JETAANY Discussion Forums

You are not logged in. You can login or register.

Brett Buzzini, Platform for President

Created 27th February 2008 @ 00:08
Showing posts 1 to 1 of 1

Subscribe to this topic

Add A Reply Pages: 1

Hello! First, a little about me:
I was an ALT in Osaka-fu from 2001-2004. Before that I studied Japanese and Japanese history at the University of Pittsburgh, my hometown. After JET, I returned to New York to attend graduate school at Columbia, where I earned my Masters in East Asian Languages and Cultures.

I currently work in the Political Section of the Japanese Consulate, and have interviewed the JET applicants for three years straight now. I care deeply about the JET program and about those returning from it also, and as president I would work to make JETs\’ return smoother and the New York area richer for their experiences.

I believe my education, experiences, and my current position in the Consulate, can help me to make JETAANY more effective and a stronger organization in the future. I believe the JETAANY can work much more effectively for its members, and as president I would like to work to make that happen.

These are a few of my ideas:

The JET program can be a great experience, but coming back to the US afterwards can be difficult. I want to work to help returning JETs transition back into life here in the US by expanding the annual Career Forum to include employers and headhunting agencies to go beyond just helping with resumes, to actually helping JETs get jobs once they are back.