JETAANY Discussion Forums

You are not logged in. You can login or register.

Randall David Cook

Created 11th October 2011 @ 03:40
Showing posts 1 to 1 of 1

Subscribe to this topic

Locked Pages: 1

I’m Randall David Cook, and I am running for a second consecutive term for the JETAANY Board of Directors. An ALT from 1991-1993 in Fukui-ken, I moved to New York City in 1996 and have been interviewing potential JET candidates each winter for more than 10 years, as I take the future of the JET Program very seriously. Three of the past four years I’ve also been the keynote speaker at the annual Departure Seminar for those fortunate candidates selected for the program, and that’s been a wonderful way to try to inspire the next generation of JETs as they begin the adventure that we’ve all already shared.

Originally from South Carolina, I hold a Bachelor’s degree from Furman University and an International MBA from the Moore School at the University of South Carolina, as well as a Business Language Diploma from the Alliance Française in Paris. I worked at Total S.A. (France’s largest petroleum company) in Paris and at Newsweek magazine and Thomson-Reuters here in New York before starting my own dog-walking business (The Zoo Crew) and dog-training organization (Big Apple Dog School) in 2002 and 2005, respectively. I started those two canine-related companies because the demands on my playwriting career started making my continuance in a corporate setting an impossibility, so entrepreneurship was the way to go as I braved the waters of an artist’s life.