Japanese Cultural Links

Cultural Centers

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Japan Society www.japansociety.org 212-832-1155 333 E 47St NY, NY
Asia Society www.asiasociety.org 212-288-6400 725 Park Ave NY, NY
Kampo Cultural Center www.kampo.com 212 -228-3063 31 Bond St NY, NY
Tenri Institute www.tenri.org 212-645-2800 43A West 13th Street NY
Zipangu www.ezipangu.org
Ise Foundation www.isefoundation.org 212-925-1649 555 Broadway Ste BB NY

Galleries

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Dai-Ichi Gallery www.daiichiarts.com 212-230-1680 249 E 48th St., NY, NY
Flying Cranes Antiques 212-223-4600 1050 2nd Ave., NY, NY
Imperial Oriental Art Ltd. www.imperialoriental.com 212-717-5383 790 Madison Ave., NY, NY
International Japanese Print 212-787-4572 20 W 64th St., NY, NY
Japan Gallery www.japangalleryprints.com 212-288-2241 1210 Lexington Ave., NY, NY
Naga Antiques 212-593-2788 145 E 61st St., NY, NY
Scholten Japanese Art ww.scholten-japanese-art.com 212-585-0474 63 E 66th St., NY, NY
Things Japanese www.thingsjapanese.com 212-371-4661 127 60th St., NY, NY

Japanese Gardens

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Brooklyn Botanic Garden Brooklyn Botanic Garden 718-623-7200 1000 Washington Avenue, Brooklyn, NY
New York Botanical Garden New York Botanical Garden 718-817-8700 Bronx River Pkwy @ Fordham Rd, Bronx
Isamu Noguchi Garden Isamu Noguchi Garden 36-01 43rd Ave, Sunnyside, NY
Niwa International Niwa International 718-380-4618 81-41 169th St., Jamaica, NY
Branchbrook Park (Newark) Branchbrook Park (Newark) Bloomfield Ave. Newark, NJ

Tea Ceremony Lessons

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Urasenke www.urasenke.or.jp 212-988-6161 153 E 69th St. NY, NY
Nippon Club www.nipponclub.org/culture 212-581-2223 145 W 57th St., NY, NY
(Ura and Omote Course available)
Ms. Yumiko Soyu Hirai Yumiko@aol.com 101 West End Ave. 64th St.

Tea/ Tea Sweets

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Ito En www.itoen.co.jp 212-988-7111 822 Madison Ave., NY, NY
Minamoto Kitchoan www.kitchoan.com 212-489-3747 608 5th Ave., NY, NY
Toraya www.toraya-group.co.jp 212-861-1700 17 E 71st St., NY, NY

Music

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Sawai Koto Academy http://www.letsplaykoto.com/academy.html To arrange for lessons, please send e-mail to:
masayo-koto@worldnet.att.net
Taikoza www.taikoza.com
email: (shaku8@aol.com)
Taiko, Shakuhachi, Fue classes.
Ki Sui An Shakuhachi Dojo http://www.nyogetsu.com/ 212-929-1037 625 Greenwich Street, New York, NY
James Nyoraku Schlefer
Shakuhachi teaching studio
http://www.sparklingbeatnik.com/nyoraku
www.nyoraku.com
email: james@nyoraku.com
Kyo Shin An
(Place of the Pure Heart)
Taiko Masala www.taiko-masala.com 914-723-7600 Japan America Learning Center
81 Montgomery Ave, Scarsdale, NY
Soh Taiko http://www.techedgeradio.com/sohdaiko/main.html
email: okada@amnh.org
718-939-1546 332 Riverside Drive New York, NY

Shodo/Sumi-e

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Koho School of Sumi-E 212-673-5190 Sensei Koho Yamamoto
64 MacDougal St. New York, NY
Kampo Cultural Center www.kampo.com 212 -228-3063 31 Bond St NY, NY
Nippon Club www.jcciny.org 212-581-2223 145 W 57th St., NY, NY
Shambhala Meditation Center of New York nysc@compuserve.com 212-675-6544 118 West 22nd Street, NY, NY
(also offers kyudo, archery)

Ikebana

Organization

Website

Phone

Address

Shambhala Meditation Center of New York email: nysc@compuserve.com 212-675-6544 118 West 22nd Street, NY, NY
Sogetsu http://www.sogetsu-ny.com/html/sogetsuny1.html
email: SogetsuInfo@aol.com
Nippon Club www.jcciny.org 212-581-2223 145 W 57th St., NY, NY

 
Japanese Cultural Stock Photos at Foto Search
Can Stock Japanese Photography
Go Graph Image Database – Japanese Culture

<<BACK TO Japan in NYC Index